“The art of growing up (Blog Entry 1).”

If you ever feel the urge to torture young children just keep asking them what they want to be when they grow up.  I don’t know how many times I have been asked this question in my life, but at some point years ago I finally figured out the right answer, “I want to be me but older.”  This eliminates any sort of future disappoint because I know I will be able to accomplish this.  Now that I am older I am still pursuing that perfect career that will define me as a person.  So I suppose I should tell you about myself then…  My name is William White, but I have always gone by my middle name, Spencer.  I am originally from Maryland, but after taking a few years off college and working the restaurant business I was determined to go live in the mountains.  I now live in Eldorado Springs, and I spend my time hiking, fly-fishing, and enjoying the many breweries Boulder has to offer.  I will graduate this spring with a degree in Anthropology.

I feel that being creative is something necessary to survival.  It’s like eating or breathing.  As human beings we have this unique ability to create and it must be used.  I have always had a creative side, but I never had the patients to be a full-blown artist.  The hardest part is actually sitting down and putting the pencil to the paper (or brush to the canvas, whatever you do…).  I dabble in writing, music, drawing, sculpture, and just recently graphic design.  If I get into it I can spend hours creating something unique and usually completely useless (economically speaking).  I have been trying to find a use for my creativity in the money-making world.  It’s not easy and next to impossible if you want to do art for art sake.  I do believe in the importance of graphic design.  Although I know close to nothing about web design, it seems this could be the most useful thing to know in the future.  Writing and rhetoric would play a role in this too.  To me rhetoric is simply the ability to effectively control language for any purpose.  Language is a tool, and for the first time we can use it to communicate instantly with the masses via the internet.  For this reason I don’t think the importance of graphic design or website design will go away.  I would like to use my last semester here to develop my writing skills, learn anything I can about web design, and improve myself artistically.  Last semester I created a brief statement on art for WRTG 3020…  feel free to take a look!

3 responses to ““The art of growing up (Blog Entry 1).”

  1. Hi Spencer! I understand exactly where your coming from–I grew up on the east coast (NY) and was drawn to the mountains. Thats so unbelievably awesome that you live in Eldo springs. About a year ago I got really in climbing and one of my favorite places to climb is Eldo. It’s so beautiful there and you really feel like you get away from the hustle bustle of boulder. Sounds like this class is right up your alley! I’ve always been intrigued by extremely creative people. I consider myself somewhat creative, but not even close to others. I think having the complete ability to express oneself through being creative is a wonderful gift. Sometimes I find myself reserved and afraid to do something out of the ordinary and creative (when it comes to art work) but my goal is to work on this! I’ve always been a writer and reader, but now I think it’s time to start expressing creativity in an artistic fashion.

  2. Hi Spencer. I too feel that art is something necessary for everyone to be apart of. As far as your patience goes for actually sitting down and getting something started, its always a difficult task. The first part of getting your idea out is definitely the hardest. i find that once you get on a roll I can never seam to put my piece away. It does become more of a relaxing media to turn to. I also am interested in the digital art aspect. I would love to go into graphics involving music artists. I believe that that part of art will never go away and it is a good thing to get into!

  3. Hello Spencer,
    I know the future has many wonderful experiences in store for you, and it sounds like you are well rounded in your studies and interests. I too have no idea exactly what I want to do when I finish my college career. I thoroughly agree with your statement that creativity is necessary to survival, and hopefully creativity will help us find a great career here soon. I also can relate to having a hard time sitting down and starting a project. It is one of my greatest challenges in making art, but once the juices start flowing it feels amazing to create something unique. It is great to hear you are enjoying Colorado and soaking up everything this state has to offer. I look forward to getting to know you this semester. Good luck to you!

Leave a comment