Remy Pearlstone Blog Entry 1

My name is Remy and I am a senior from Aspen, Colorado. I am an art history major and I chose it because I am a very good visual learner. I also like it because I get history and art all in one. One day I would like to trade commodities. I had a summer internship in commodity trading and I really enjoyed it. I have also worked for a property management company for some summer jobs. It was a great job and I learned how to be more resourceful and fix my own things. I plan on taking advantage of my long weekends while I still have them and visit friends at other colleges.

 

I am taking this class because I needed an upper division-writing course and writing in the visual arts fills two requirements for my degree. Visual arts are basically anything one can see with their eyes. My experience with visual arts is that my major is Art History. Art History requires that I write a log of papers on paintings that I am studying.  I enjoy them, but sometimes struggle with my writing. I am hoping to improve these skills while taking this class. Often I know what I want to say, but struggle figuring out how to say it in the proper way. Hopefully this class will help me get these ideas on paper, and will make me sound more like an art expert. Rhetoric is the study of writing as means of communication. If texting and writing small emails is a form of rhetoric then yes I do consider my self a rhetorician. I believe that this class will help me not only in my writing in my art history, but also with my writing in every day life. I think that being able to comfortably put into words what I am looking at with my eyes is a skill that will be helpful in anything that I choose to do in my career. I also hope that this class will help me further my love of the arts. I hope that I will not only become a better as a writer, but I will learn new ways to observe and think about art.

2 responses to “Remy Pearlstone Blog Entry 1

  1. Hi Remy! First of all I think it is awesome that you learned how to fix your own things while working for a property management company! Its funny the things we end up taking away from particular jobs that end up being helpful for a lifetime. Like you, I struggle with translating my thoughts onto paper. I am hoping that this class will help us by using visual arts, something we are both familiar with, as a foundation.

  2. Hey Remy,
    I’m from Colorado too! If you’re from Aspen I imagine you like to ski or snowboard. I’m a skier and I’m loyal to Vail so I hope that doesn’t come in between us. I think you are very right about writing being a skill that will help in any job. While I’m somewhat comfortable with my writing, it is a skill that constantly can be improved and refined.

Leave a comment